Xurpas Chairman and CEO named Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2015

Mr. Nico Jose S. Nolledo, Chairman and CEO of Xurpas, Inc., one of the largest listed consumer technology companies in Southeast Asia, was named the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2015 in an awards banquet held last 14 October 2015 at the Makati Shangri-La Hotel. Mr. Nolledo will represent the country in the prestigious World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June 2016.

Mr. Nolledo also received the Master Entrepreneur award for applying sound management practices in the critical areas of the company including finance, business development, marketing, human resources and sales. Mr. Nolledo co-founded Xurpas with only P62,500 in capital in 2001. Today, it has grown into a billion-peso company that develops mobile platform solutions and mission-critical applications for Philippine telcos, government agencies and top tier companies, as well as localized content that caters to Filipino consumers.

Other category winners were Judith D. Versoza, President and CEO of Aveate Management Corporation (Josiah’s), as Woman Entrepreneur; Philip N. Tan, President and CEO, Wellmade Motors and Development Corporation, as Innovation Entrepreneur; Jose Mari R. Del Rosario, President and CEO of Microtel Inns & Suites (Pilipinas), Inc., as Industry Entrepreneur for the Hospitality Industry; and Antonio Agustin M. Escalante, President of Escanova Ventures, Inc., as Small Business Entrepreneur.

The recipients of the category awards were chosen from among 11 outstanding finalists representing enterprises from diverse industries from various regions in the country. The others finalists were Januario Jesus B. Atencio III (8990 Holdings, Inc.), Julieta G. Austria (Blue Macay Food Manufacturing Corporation), Martine D. Cajucom (Sunnies Studios), Roland C. Delantar (RCD Land, Inc.), Benjamin R. Lao (Lao Integrated Farms), and Wilson Tieng (Solar Entertainment Corp.).

SGV Chairman and Managing Partner and SGV Foundation Chairman and President Vic Noel reiterated how entrepreneurs are in essence game changers, saying “Entrepreneurs are perceptive business leaders who understand a vital truth – that in order to win the game, one must sometimes change the rules for the better. Capitalizing on their strategic vision, entrepreneurs see the possibilities and opportunities that others cannot. As game changers, entrepreneurs continually innovate and improve the business landscape, just like how Mr. Nolledo of Xurpas, Inc. has accelerated the evolution of mobile application technology in the Philippines.”

Senator Paulo Benigno “Bam” Aquino, who was a finalist of the program in 2010 and is currently the Chair of the Senate Committee on Trade, Commerce and Entrepreneurship, gave the keynote address, emphasizing how entrepreneurship can pave the way to economic freedom, recognizing how each of the finalists contributes to nationbuilding and noting how our country’s unprecedented progress provides opportunities for Filipino entrepreneurs today. “Hand in hand with this growth though, is the responsibility to ensure that all our countrymen across our many islands experience this prosperity that many of us have long hoped for. A mission that can be achieved by developing entrepreneurs like today’s finalists through sound policy and proper support systems. We are confident that the public and private spheres can come together to create that environment where entrepreneurs, even micro-entrepreneurs, thrive and succeed as they follow the path that our finalists have paved for them,” he remarked.

All nominees went through a strict financial data ranking system used by all Entrepreneur Of The Year participating countries. The finalists were further evaluated by an independent panel of judges composed of distinguished business personalities.

The panel was chaired by Former Philippine Prime Minister Cesar E. A. Virata, Corporate Vice Chairman of Rizal Commercial Banking Corporation. The other panel members were former Foreign Affairs Secretary and SGV Senior Advisor Amb. Delia D. Albert, Department of Trade and Industry Undersecretary Zenaida Maglaya, CEO of Synergeia Dr. Milwida M. Guevara, Executive Director of the Philippine Business for Social Progress Rafael Cojuangco Lopa, and President and CEO of the Philippine Stock Exchange Hans B. Sicat.