SGVF holds annual meeting for FY 2010-2011

The members of the Board of Trustees and Committees of the SGV Foundation (SGVF) recently held their Annual Meeting at the Shang Grand Tower Penthouse. Elected to the FY 2010-2011 Board of Trustees were Cirilo P. Noel as Chairman and President and J. Carlitos G. Cruz as Vice Chairman and Vice President. The Board also welcomed its newly instated members Wilson P. Tan and Milwida M. Guevara, Ph.D., Chief Executive Officer of Synergeia Foundation.

Presenting the Foundation’s significant achievements in the past year, Vic noted that SGVF has continued to support social development through various projects such as:

• The SGV Foundation Undergraduate Scholarship Program, which continues to provide educational support to deserving but less fortunate students

• The rehabilitation of the Pinagbuhatan Elementary School, which was severely damaged by Typhoon Ondoy in 2009

• The Teacher Training Programs conducted by the Sa Aklat Sisikat Foundation

• The Gawad Kalinga Village 88 initiative

• The Entrepreneur of the Year Philippines program

He also reported that SGVF passed the PCNC evaluation for the renewal of its accreditation, making the Foundation a BIR-certified donee institution.

This year, SGVF aims to expand its CSR programs by strengthening its scholarship program and professional chair endowments; establishing the SGV Museum to preserve and share the Firm’s history; and organizing activities to increase awareness and draw involvement in SGVF projects.

The annual meeting was truly a heartwarming event that strengthened the Foundation’s commitment to being in the business of doing good.

Photo shows: (back row, from left) Mhelvin Abajon, Trust Officer (BPI); Ramon D. Dizon, Vocational and Technical Education Chairman; Oscar Reyes, Board Member; Roberto Jose L. Castillo, Board Member; Kasigod Jamias, Board Member; Guillermo Luchangco, Board Member; Rodolfo F. Jeturian, Board Member; Serafin U. Salvador, Jr., Corporate Secretary; J. Carlitos G. Cruz, Vice Chairman and Vice President; Medel T. Nera, Board Member; Wilson P. Tan, Board Member, SGV Foundation; (front row, from left) Amalia Santos-Valdez, Trust Officer (BPI); Virginia T. Obcena, Assistant Treasurer; Grace Glory Go, Board Member; Celia S. Samson, Executive Director; Cirilo P. Noel, Chairman and President; Erlinda T. Villanueva, Treasurer; Milwida Guevarra, Ph.D., Board Member; and Cynthia A. Manlapig, Projects Committee Chairman.