SGV at 70: Championing entrepreneurs

In 2003, the SGV Foundation launched the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year (EOY) Philippines program, which aims to recognize inspiring entrepreneurs who transform industries and drive social and economic change.


Jollibee Foods Corporation President and CEO Tony Tan Caktiong won the first EOY Philippines title and went on to win the 2004 World Entrepreneur Of The Year (WEOY) award in Monaco.

The WEOY program was first introduced in the United States in 1986 by professional services firm Ernst & Young to recognize the achievements of outstanding entrepreneurs within successful, growing and dynamic businesses.