First social entrepreneur named Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines

Jaime Ayala, Founder and CEO of Hybrid Social Solutions, Inc., was named the Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012 in an awards banquet held on 18 October at the Makati Shangri-La Hotel. He will be the first Filipino social entrepreneur to represent the country in the prestigious World Entrepreneur Of The Year in Monte Carlo, Monaco in June 2013.

Mr. Ayala was honored for his visionary efforts to bridge the power infrastructure gap in the provinces by leveraging on solar-powered technology. He was also given the Social Entrepreneur award for building an organization that champions social transformation for the poor and marginalized.

Right photo: Social Entrepreneurs 2011 Anna Meloto-Wilk and Camille Meloto presented the Social Entrepreneur 2012 award to Jaime Ayala

This year’s theme was Passion — the fuel that fires entrepreneurship and the quality that compels individuals to pursue their dreams of greatness.

Winners of Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012

The other category winners are (left to right): Small Business Entrepreneur, Jonathan O. Suy of Jomaray Pulp Packaging; Master Entrepreneur, Jose Victor P. Paterno of Philippine Seven Corporation; Social Entrepreneur and Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012 Jaime I. Ayala of Hybrid Social Solutions, Inc.; Woman Entrepreneur, Venus C. Genson of Art ‘N’ Nature Manufacturing Corporation; Emerging Entrepreneur, Tommany Tan of FERN, Inc.; Young Entrepreneur, Marvin Agustin of SumoSam Foods, Inc.

Finalists of Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012

Other finalists who were recognized for their inspirational stories were: (First row, L-R)) Raoul Roberto Goco, Executive Chef and Owner, Cyma Greek Taverna Co.; Antonette De Guzman and Carolina Osteria, Managing Directors, ACM Landholdings, Inc.; Amelia Manas, President and CEO, Bruno’s Services Corporation, Venus Genson, President and CEO, Art ‘N’ Nature Manufacturing Corporation; Siu Ping Par, COO, and Nelson Par, Chairman and CEO, PR Gaz Franchising Corporation; (Middle row, L-R) Dennis Uy, President and CEO, Phoenix Petroleum Philippines Inc.; Raphael Juan, President, Centro Manufacturing Corporation, Dr. Ronald Guzman, Founder, President and CEO, Medical Colleges of Northern Philippines, Marvin Agustin, President, SumoSam Foods, Inc. (Last row, L-R) Raphael Soon, President, North Park Noodle House, Inc.; Tommanny Tan, President and CEO, Filipino Entrepreneurs & Resources Network, Inc.; Jose Victor Paterno, President and CEO, Philippine Seven Corporation; Jaime Ayala, Founder and CEO, Hybrid Social Solutions, Inc.; Raul Ang, President, Maxima Machineries, Inc.; Edwin Salonga, Chairperson, and Vincent Rapisura, President and CEO, Social Enterprise Development Partnerships, Inc.; Willy Tee Ten, President and Dealer Principal, Autohub Group of Companies; and Jonathan Suy, General Manager, Jomaray Pulp Packaging Industries

SGV Chairman and Managing Partner and SGV Foundation Chairman and President Vic Noel formally opened the Awards Night, while Deputy Managing Partner Itos Cruz inducted the 2011 and 2012 winners and finalists into the Entrepreneur Of the Year Philippines Academy. President and CEO of PLDT Polly Nazareno gave the keynote speech on behalf of Chairman of the Board Manny Pangilinan.

Mr. Polly Nazareno and Mr. Vic Noel

Left to right: Vic Noel, President, SGV Foundation; Chairman and Managing Partner, SGV & Co; Senen Bacani, Chairman and President, La Frutera Inc; Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2006; Socorro Ramos, Founder, National Bookstore; Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2004; Jaime Ayala, Founder and CEO, Hybrid Social Solutions Inc.; Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012; Mrs. Missy Ayala; Cesar Virata, Corporate Vice Chairman, RCBC; Chairman of the Judging Panel of Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2012; Amb. Jesus Tambunting, Chairman and President, Planters Development Bank; Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2009; and Tennyson Chen, President, Bounty Fresh Food Inc,; Entrepreneur Of The Year Philippines 2010

The Entrepreneur Of The Year was founded in the United States by professional services firm Ernst & Young in 1986 to recognize the achievements of the most successful and innovative entrepreneurs worldwide. In 2001, Ernst & Young expanded the program and launched the World Entrepreneur Of The Year awards. In the Philippines, the SGV Foundation, Inc. established the Entrepreneur Of The Year in 2003. Supporting the program as co-presenters are, De La Salle University, Department of Trade and Industry, Development Bank of the Philippines, Philippine Business for Social Progress, Philippine Stock Exchange, and the Schwab Foundation for Social Entrepreneurship.

Media sponsors are BusinessWorld and the ABS-CBN News Channel. Official airline is KLM Royal Dutch Airlines, operating on behalf of the Air France-KLM Group in the Philippines. Banquet sponsors are ABS-CBN Corporation, Alaska Milk Corporation, Bounty Fresh Food Inc., Fiori Di M Food and Floralscapes, Hyundai Asia Resources Inc., National Bookstore, Planters Development Bank, SAP Philippines, Shopwise, Vibal Publishing House and Victorinox Travel Gear.